top of page

Landlord/Tenant Laws.

Landlord/Tenant Act (URLTA)

The Kentucky Landlord/Tenant Act (officially known as the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act, or URLTA)

  • As of 2016, the Kentucky Landlord/Tenant Act only applies in: Pulaski County, Oldham County, Jefferson County, Fayette County, Barbourville, Bellevue, Bromley, Covington, Dayton, Florence, Georgetown, Ludlow, Melbourne, Newport, Silver Grove, Southgate, Shelbyville, Taylor Mill, and Woodlawn.

KY Attorney General

– Please see the AG’s page for guidance on rental rights in non-URLTA areas.

Protecting Yourself and Your Family When the Laws Don’t

– Published by the Homeless & Housing Coalition of South Central Kentucky.

This is a handbook created for the residents of the Barren River area in South Central Kentucky. However, if you live in a city or county in Kentucky that has not adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (URLTA, also known as the Landlord/Tenant Act in shorthand), there are many tips in this handbook that will be legally relevant to protecting your rights as a tenant.

bottom of page